skip to content

Driscoll Research Group


Femincam: The Device Materials Group in the lab.

The Event

Femincam is a celebration of the emerging women in science and leaders in electronic materials, across the departments of Materials, Physics, Chemistry, Electrical Engineering Chemical EngineeringIt will take place at Trinity College, Cambridge, on 27 Sept. 2023. To register please visit this link or to learn more about Femincam or any questions, please email us at

The meeting will feature discussions about the challenges that women in science face, particularly in terms of equality, diversity, and inclusion, and the changing landscape in this respect. It will also celebrate 60 years of the all-women Device Materials Group led by Prof. Judith Driscoll, Prof. Sohini Kar-Narayan, and Dr Giuliana Di Martino at the University of Cambridge. The event will feature talks by nine excellent emerging women leaders in Cambridge, a series of talks focusing on EDI topics, as well as poster sessions and networking opportunities for around 30 PhD students and postdocs. Femincam will include a round table panel discussion featuring high-profile senior women to discuss their career experiences. The panel will include Prof. Dame Clare Grey (Chemistry) and Prof. Valerie Gibson OBE (Physics) and an industry leader from Applied Materials, Dr. Connie Wang. An evening dinner will also be held, during which Prof. Dame Sally Davies, the first female Master of Trinity College and former first female Chief Medical Officer in the UK, will speak about her career experiences. Femincam promises to be an enlightening event, filled with inspiring stories and informative discussions about women in science.

Event Schedule - Trinity College, 27 Sept. 2023

All talks will take place in Winstanley Lecture Hall, Trinity College,whilst the poster exhibition will be in the OCR, Trinity College. Please see map below

9. 00 am Arrival and registration

·      Session 1: Chair Judith Driscoll

o   9.15 am Welcome remarks

o   9.45 am Hannah Stern

o   10.15 am  Emilie Ringe

·      10.45 am Coffee Break

·      Session 2:  Chair Giuliana di Martino

o   11.15 am Shery Huang

o   11.45 am Rachel Evans

o   12.15 pm EDI speaker Rachel Oliver

·      12.45 pm Lunch and posters (see participating researchers and titles below)

·      Session 3:  Chair Sohini Kar-Narayan

o   2.15 pm  Helena Knowles

o   2.45 pm  Hannah Joyce

o   3.15 pm Chiara Cicarelli

·      3.45 pm Tea Break

·      Session 4:  Chair Benedetta Gaggio

o   4. 15 pm Jenny Zhang

o   4. 45 pm  Roisin Owens

o   5. 15 pm EDI speaker

·      5. 45 pm –  6.45 pm Roundtable discussion. Prof. Dame Clare Grey, Dr. Connie Wang, Prof. Val Gibson OBE, Prof. John Singleton

·      6. 45pm – 7. 15pm Drinks

·      7 15 pm Dinner Speech from Prof. Dame Sally Davies, Master of Trinity 

Poster Exhibitions Titles

The poster exhibition will include 25 researchers, with two prizes available for PhDs and PDRAs. 

Department of Engineering

  • Stephanie Adeyemo: "Polarization-Sensitive Terahertz Devices" (Constance Work Research Fellow, Department of Engineering)
  • Akanksha Ahuja: "Graph-Based Methods in Optical Network Design" (PhD researcher, Department of Engineering)
  • Chaoqun Dong: "Soft Actuator-Assisted Minimally Invasive Peripheral Nerve Interfaces) (Postdoc fellow, Department of Engineering)
  • Ningning Gao: "Automated Microscopy for Nanowire Device Fabrication" (PhD researcher, Department of Engineering)
  • Nuzli Karam: "Tissue-Like Sensing Arrays for Brain Organoids" (PhD researcher, Department of Engineering)
  • Kasia Surowiecka: "Is the Lean Six Sigma approach useful for researchers?" (Chief Research Technician, Department of Engineering)

Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy

  • Francesca Adams: "Nitride High Electron Mobility Transistors for Low Temperature Applications" (PhD researcher, Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy)
  • Christina Boukouvala: "Magnesium nanoparticles for metal enhanced fluorescence" (Research associate, Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy)
  • Georgina Burgoyne Morris: "Self-healing organic-inorganic hybrid polymer hosts for solid-state triplet-triplet annihilation upconversion" (PhD researcher, Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy)
  • Muireann de h-Óra: "Highly Cyclable Voltage Control of Magnetism in Cobalt Ferrite Nanopillars for Memory and Neuromorphic Applications" (PhD researcher, Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy)
  • Larissa Franca: "Exploring organic materials for key technological applications" (Research Assistant, Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy)
  • Benedetta Gaggio: "Ionic control of active and passive memristive performance in epitaxial niobium oxide thin film for memory and neuromorphic applications" (PhD researcher, Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy)
  • Claire West: "Plasmonic Magnesium Nanoparticles for Photothermal Therapies" (Newton International Fellow, Earth Sciences and Materials Science & Metallurgy)

Yusuf Hamied Department of Chemistry

  • Alice Beardmore: "Novel Borate Electrolytes for Na-ion Batteries: SEI Characterisation on Hard Carbon Anodes" (PhD researcher, Yusuf Hamied Department of Chemistry)
  • Niamh Hartley: "Quinone-functionalised carbons as new materials for electrochemical carbon dioxide capture" (PhD researcher, Yusuf Hamied Department of Chemistry)
  • Emma Latchem: "Using on-line NMR spectroscopy to understand crossover in redox flow batteries" (PhD researcher, Yusuf Hamied Department of Chemistry)
  • Carolina Pulignani: "Rational Design of Carbon Nitride Photoelectrodes with High Activity Toward Organic Oxidations" (PhD researcher, Yusuf Hamied Department of Chemistry)
  • Linying Shang: "3D Electrodes in Living Biophotoelectrochemical Systems" (PhD researcher, Yusuf Hamied Department of Chemistry)

Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology

  • Belquis Haider: "Flexible Organic Microelectrode Arrays for Long-Term Functional Characterisation of Brain Organoids at the Air-Liquid Interface" (PhD researcher, Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology)
  • Poppy Oldroyd: "Soft Device for Simultaneous Measurements of Contractility and Electrophysiology of Neuromuscular Tissue" (PhD researcher, Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology)
  • Sophie Oldroyd: "Development of organic bioelectronic probes for the characterisation of gut health in vitro and ex vivo" (PhD researcher, Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology)
  • Alexandra Wheeler-Enslin: "Investigating the effects of Vibrio vulnificus infection on intestinal model" (PhD researcher, Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology)

Cavendish Laboratories Department of Physics

  • Freya Johnson: "Room temperature weak collinear ferrimagnet with symmetry driven, large intrinsic magneto-optic signatures" (Research Fellow, Cavendish Laboratory, Physics)
  • Eleanor Nicholas: "Towards quantum-confined spin-qubits in monolayer, semiconducting WSe2" (PhD researcher, Cavendish Laboratory, Physics)
  • Sara Rocchetti: "Amplified plasmonic forces from DNA-origami scaffolded single dyes in nanogaps" (PhD researcher, Cavendish Laboratory, Physics)
  • Sarah Sandler: "PAthogeN Detection to Optimise and Rationalise Antimicrobials (PANDORA)" (PhD researcher, Cavendish Laboratory, Physics)

Industry partners:

  • Yu Yu: "Investigating the Cause of Cracking in Yttrium-Stabilised Zirconia Anodes for Titanium Recovery via Molten Salt Electrolysis" (Materials Researcher, Materials Engineering at Almath)




Trinity College map, conference venues